Chainmaille Mania (Part 3)

Here are a few designs that I came up with based on popular chainmaille weaves:

lil-owlL’il Owl is based on a Byzantine link. When a Byzantine segment is viewed from the top, it reminds me of a perched owl, so I decided to modify it and incorporate different metals and glass beads to make birdlike earrings. Here I’ve used solid copper, bronze and anodized aluminum and hung them on brass earwires. Anodized aluminum has a shiny, coloured coating added by the same process used to produce cookware. Since making these, I’ve acquired more earthtone colours such as brown, yellow and orange that will probably make the owl design a bit more obvious. Chainmaille earrings, especially those made of aluminum, are a joy to wear because they’re so lightweight!

big-blue-marbleUsing the captive technique, Big Blue Marble is a keychain of Japanese weave, caging a large glass marble in heavy-gauge aluminum rings. I had no pattern or specifications to work from; I just experimented until I got the proportions right. The marble is captured securely but still rotates, so it’s fun to play with and can be used as a worry stone! The fob hangs on a sturdy 3 in 3 aluminum chain. Aluminum chainmaille is quite hardy, but I now have stainless steel rings that would work well for this type of design and make it virtually indestructible.

I modified the European 4 in 1 weave with an element of my own to make this Fire & Ice ring, using two sizes of anodized aluminum and solid bronze rings instead of just one. The wide band is lightweight and flexible, rolls onto the finger and holds its shape.fire-iceIf you missed my previous two posts on making chainmaille jewellery, see Part One and Part Two here. If you are interested in purchasing any of my work, or would like to discuss a custom or personalized order, please contact me through my Etsy shop!

8 thoughts on “Chainmaille Mania (Part 3)

  1. This is how much I like you and how clever and talented I think you are: I am looking at pictures of rings and earrings, things I normally avoid laying eyes on if at all possible and will absolutely not touch if I can help it! I don’t mean yours, I mean ANY rings or earrings. I can’t pay you a bigger compliment really than to say that I saw what the post was about and came to look and say Hi anyway!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

