Steel Spirals and Crystal Drops

I wasn’t intending to post any more chainmaille for a while, but a conversation yesterday with fellow bloggers over at PaperPuff and samanthamurdochblog inspired me to make these earrings. (If you haven’t visited their wonderful sites yet, please do if you have a moment!)

The conversation concerned crystal drops – of the paper arts as well as beading kind. Puff informed us that her sort of crystal drops are a type of glittery jelly-like adhesive stuff. Samantha and I were thinking more along the lines of shimmering glass or acrylic beads, and, as it turned out, we both had these items already in our craft rooms. I had bought a strand of beautiful clear glass beads weeks ago, fully intending to use them with my chainmaille. Not surprisingly, I hadn’t yet got around to it.

20161113_020122-3Suitably motivated, I got out my pliers after finishing my blog rounds, and started mailling. For these earrings, I took small 20 gauge stainless steel rings and wove them using the Double Spiral pattern. Also known as the Spiral 8 in 2, Rope Weave or Serpentine, this is a classic chain often used for necklaces and bracelets. Essentially, as the name suggests, it’s a 4 in 1 Spiral with each ring doubled. Unlike that weave, however, which will untwist if you don’t anchor the ends while you work, the Double Spiral holds its shape without the need for stabilization. I added the glass beads with their slight aurora borealis iridescence, and hung the chains on stainless steel earwires. In all, they dangle about 1.75 inches from the earlobe.

Naturally, I had to call these little beauties Crystal Drops. I think they’d work beautifully any time of year, but they do remind me of frozen tears or icicles. A perfect way to usher in the coldest months of the year!

20161113_014716-3Thank you to Samantha and Puff for the inspiration as well as the lively and amusing dialogue; I truly appreciate your support. And I think Samantha owes us a photo – when the time comes – of her crystal-adorned Christmas tree!

7 thoughts on “Steel Spirals and Crystal Drops

  1. Thank you for the mention 🙂 I’m just catching up with comments as I was horribly ill yesterday…
    Love these earrings! They remind me of moonstones, they have that sort of milky iridescent sheen to them..beautiful! And…all right then! Lol! When I have my tree up I’ll try and get a picture of it before the cats start on it..they seem to think it’s for their amusement! There’s a department store here that has trees made entirely from feathers…
    Yes..might string my beads up with some little pearls or just use them as they are, they’re so pretty.
    Great post, love the earrings, pleased our conversation was inspirational 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry to hear you’ve been ill, Samantha; hope you’re feeling better now. Thanks for your comments. I’m glad you like the earrings – I’m making plans for a couple of different types of necklaces using these beads. I agree they do look like moonstones. Yes, now it’s over to you – looking forward to seeing the tree, perhaps bedecked with a festive feline or two!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Feeling a little bit better thank you… I hate being ill 😦

        Those earrings are beautiful, will be interested to see what else you make 🙂 and hopefully my tree will stay up long enough for my son to get a decent picture of it before the cats decide to re-arrange things…!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

