Looney Moons

The full moon of 8:52 a.m. on Monday, November 14 was touted as a “supermoon” because when, in its orbit, it arrived at its closest point to Earth (its monthly perigee), that point was the nearest it’s been since 1948. It appeared to the casual observer (not in actual measurement) to look larger and brighter than usual. It was the second in a series of three consecutive supermoons (October, November and December) of 2016, and it won’t be this close to us again for another 18 years. So, I hope you had a chance to see Luna in all her luminous largesse on Monday.

I wasn’t able to photograph her at peak, but, since she still appears “full” for another 24 hours, I stole out early this morning, when Luna was still beaming brightly, to get a few shots. Unfortunately, she wasn’t close to the horizon, where reference points like hills and buildings always makes the moon look larger, whether it’s super or not. She was up high, but there were no clouds, so I snapped some photos using a Nikon D5000 with Nikkor 70-300 mm lens and tripod. I still didn’t get the nice, sharp images that I long for, but they’d have to do.

Earlier last evening, when I checked in on Facebook, saw other people’s pics of the Supermoon and read their comments, I got the impression that there’s a certain snobbery going on about full-on photos of the “whole” moon. As in, the moon and just the moon – no hanging crescents, eerie tree silhouettes or geese flying artfully across its face. Some people, I gather, are bored with plain old, run-of-the-mill moon shots with no special effects and nothing else in the frame. Well, phooey on them, I say! To me, la bella Luna is always beautiful, and she doesn’t need any special jewellery or cosmetics to enhance her allure.

However, since my own shots were nothing of the extraordinary, and I was perhaps a little punchy having stayed up most of the night, I decided to use my editing software to have some fun with Luna. Not to satisfy the snobs, mind you – I’m sure they’d scoff at my silly attempts to go artsy. It was simply for my own amusement – and now, hopefully, yours!

(Click on first photo to read full captions and scroll through gallery.)

9 thoughts on “Looney Moons

  1. I loved this post, Val, and your experiments in photo editing software. As you know, I have no such snobbery regarding full-moon faces! However, your shot of the plane passing across her face is a very cool example of right place, right time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Sis! I know … I’d be happy with a sharper, perfectly-exposed full moon; this one’s too dark and muddy and no amount of editing could make it right. Oh well, there’s always December. P.S. Great to see you here!

      Like

  2. I had no idea there was a snobbery thing going on. I think it was a treat to be able to witness it, whatever the view, or the photo, surely? We just had a sky full of cloud, couldn’t see a thing! Nice digital photo lab skills!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

